Workshops

The Scholarship Resource Center is open to all students, and potential students without appointment during walk-in hours. Our workshops are open to all Georgia State University students and advance registration is not required.

Searching and Applying For Scholarships

This workshop covers the basics of searching and applying for scholarships, how college funding works, adhering to timelines and enhancing research skills.

Day Date Time Location
Monday Sep. 15, 2014 2:30-3:00 p.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Friday Sep. 19, 2014 2:30-3:00 p.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Monday Oct. 6, 2014 2:30-3:00 p.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Tuesday Oct. 21, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Thursday Nov. 6, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Tuesday Nov. 18, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall

Writing a Winning Essay

This workshop unlocks the secrets of what sets a scholarship winner apart from thousands of candidates — the personal essay! Learn how to create a winning essay by avoiding common mistakes, understanding what the judges want to see, and reviewing winning essays and essays that failed. If you have already written a personal essay that needs work, don’t be afraid to bring it!

Day Date Time Location
Monday Sep. 8, 2014 2:30-3:00 p.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Friday Sep. 26, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Monday Oct. 13, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Thursday Oct. 16, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Tuesday Nov. 4, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Thursday Nov. 13, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall

Trying to Make a Dollar out of 15 Cents: Financial Literacy in the College Setting

This workshop gives students the building blocks for financial success that begin in college life. The workshop covers budgeting, debt and making decisions that will set students up for long term financial success.

Day Date Time Location
Friday Sep. 5, 2014 2:30-3:00 p.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Wednesday Sep. 10, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Thursday Oct. 23, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Monday Oct. 27, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Tuesday Nov. 11, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall
Thursday Nov. 20, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall

Keeping Hope Alive

This workshop provides students with the criteria for gaining and keeping the Hope Scholarship. Students will learn keys to maintaining Hope throughout their college career.

Day Date Time Location
Tuesday Sep. 16, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall

Financing Your Graduate Education

This workshop assists potential and current graduate students in understanding the options available for financing their graduate education. Students will learn about types of funding sources available and will be provided with resources to begin their funding search.

Day Date Time Location
Thursday Oct. 2, 2014 10:00-10:30 a.m. 249 Sparks Hall